Australian Broadcasting Commission


The Australian Broadcasting Commisson

Australia’s public broadcaster was established as the private Australian Broadcasting Company in 1929, and was nationalised to create the Australian Broadcasting Commission in 1932.

Television broadcasts began in 1956 to cover the Melbourne Olympic Games, but the spread of the network was slow owing to the country’s huge size and sparse population, with all states only having an ABC-TV presence by 1971.

The television licence fee was abolished in 1974, with the ABC being funded directly by the government since then.

ABC was reorganised in 1983, becoming the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *